Review: Glutino Toaster pastries

Standard

So there are numerous things I miss now that I’m gluten free. I miss being able to go whatever restaurant I want, without having to plan in advance. I miss cake. I miss soft pretzels. And if any celiac has ever told you they don’t miss Pop-Tarts… well I”m sorry, but they’re lying.

pop tarts

Pop-tarts are man’s convenience food. Breakfast, snack, lunch, dinner… whatever time it is, it’s an appropriate time for a Pop-Tart. Once upon a time, my mom made homemade gluten-free pop-tarts and they were awesome. But other than that, I have had no interactions with toaster pastries whatsoever.

Glutino box

 

 

UNTIL NOW.

I had been reserved about buying these Glutino toaster pastries, especially since they are $5 dollars a box( a box containing just 5 pastries). However, like all great things at Wal-Mart, I found them cheap… only $3! So I figured, why not?

I decided to have one on this dreary morning in Denver. I toasted it, but I think just having it plain would be good as well.

Poptart

When opening the package, it doesn’t look too impressive. Just a plain pastry with some holes, no icing. This display is why I decided to toast it, in hopes of making it a little more aesthetically pleasing?

Poptart inside

And clearly by aesthetically pleasing I meant burning. Well done, Kenna. 

Taste: They weren’t too bad! They mostly just tasted like a flaky crust, with a hint of mashed strawberry in there. Nothing too extravagant, but I did enjoy them. For $3, I would buy them again. They’re convenient, and provide even a sense of normalcy (even if they are from a company entitled Glutino haha).

 

poptart reaction

Now if only I could find my precious Glutino english muffins somewhere in Denver, then we’ll be set. 🙂

Leave a Reply

